♥ Recipes from Last Night · Community

Cheesie Chicken Casserole


I made this for the first time tonight after searching frugal budget minded recipes to stretch my grocery budget. The directions call for chicken breasts to be cooked then added. I found a cheaper option. Boneless breasts (4 cups needed) sell for almost the cost of this whole dish (about 6$). I picked up a roaster for 1.98 and had leftovers for another dish next week. ( I froze it after I cooked it).

So which ever is easier pick your passion. I prefer the roaster.

4c shredded chopped cubed chicken
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 can red kidney beans
2c corn (frozen 1 can drained or fresh off the cobb)
* really good sub the chile corn frozen mix available in frozen foods add some mex !
1 can chopped tomatoes
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
1/2 tsp chili powder ( i put in some more!)
1-2 c grated cheese (mex flavor even better!)
Flour tortillas
Total cost for the web recipe was 6.60$ I believe mine was less.
Feeds 6 people easily twice with more for leftovers!

If you select the roaster:
Plop it in the bucket and boil until done. Cool chop and freeze the rest!

If you select boneless breast:
Saute 1 onion in butter/margarine until softened. Add chicken. Dissolve 1 chicken boullion cube in 1cup hot water. Add this to chicken and onion in skillet.

 Main:
Add cooked chicken, chicken soup, kidney beans, corn, ground pepper, chili powder. Stir combine.
In a casserole dish (13×9) place a layer of torn tortillas. Add layer of chicken mix sprinkle half of cheese. Add another layer of torn tortillas cover with chicken mix and top with remaining cheese.
Recipe calls for 350 at 30 minutes.

I baked longer because my oven sucks and I wanted my cheese nice and brown.

Serve with a dollop of sour cream salsa and a nice side salad.

This is a warm cheesie dish that my family really adored tonight.

Leave a Reply

