♥ Family · knitting

Martin Clan Aran Pattern



Martin Clan Aran Pattern

Originally uploaded by CravnCrochet

I fell in love with this sweater this morning. I was looking online for resources to designing your own knitting patterns. I have yet to find any great books for that, but I did find my clan Aran pattern.

In Ireland very few people were ever really identified by a particular pattern – this is true. It is absolutely more of a lure and publicity tool.Β  However certain families were known for their gifts in knitting and for their ability and education to the craft. My family while all homedo-ers were not so into knitting as herbs and home remedies. However going back through family history there were the other side of the aunts (daughters of my grandfather prior to his marriage to my grandmother) that were excelled in their Irish Knitting patterns.

Many of their favorite cables are represented here which is what drew me in. Does this website know that – I doubt it. But they do offer the accurate family arms and some fun history. Plus the ability to have an authentic Aran pattern – which is awesome. The stitches as they say, do mean something from dreams wishes to stories of my ancestors.

Few clans were associated with the Aran Isles, but patterns made their way all through out Ireland due to the gifted women creating these beautiful sweaters.

http://www.clanarans.com/ca/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/100/products_id/75/currency/USD

Leave a Reply

