♥ Patterns · knitting

Noro Nightmares and Buying my Own Christmas


image_200.jpgNoro Silk Garden

Loopy Ewe Love– this week I picked up some DPNs and a Circular that are detailed in Angela’s pattern for her Three Tams  on Knitty Winter. I love Tams and was really excited to find very low cost needles on LoopyEwe. Always a bargain to be found there, I really love the site and Sheri. She includes treats for Loopy Groupies (me) and they are always exquisite. This time two yarn samples included – Lorna Laces (Shepherd Sock) and Cherry Tree Hill (Supersock). I really like getting the yarn cards. To be able to stitch a few stitches feel the yarn and see colorways helps make better decisions about purchases (just my opinion). The second treat was SOAK. This stuff is really a pleasure. Its Eco-Happy and just an all around great product. My thought – this came in perfect time for some last minute knit up scarves for the holidays. I will be able to soak them all and have them fresh and yummy for gifting.

On to the Noro.. this is interesting stuff.. let me tell  you!
I picked up colorway 255 that was again mentioned in the 3 Tams project. Its a weird colorway reminding me of the ocean for some reason. This is my fist time seeing Noro. I have to admit I am a little scared and delighted. Its rough not shiny soft or sparkly- which is usually what attracts me to a yarn. I think its the foamy rough sea after a hurricane look … that makes me think of the ocean and mermaids. Its hewn and yar its so very sea glass… . I am excited to use it. I however have officially decided to take some classes first. All this book reading. All this work on DPNs .. I am not getting the whole knitting in the round – magicloop – dpn- or sock thing. I CAN knit on two needles. I can make dishcloths – scarves and even hats that need seamed. I suck eggs at joining and working proper gauge  much less stitches in the round. Something in my brain just isnt loading the data. So I cleaned out the basement the other day and discovered I have the following books in my library:
 
Knitting Directory – Alison Jenkins
Kids Knitting – Melanie Falick
Scarves – XRX (a knitters dozen – patterns)

All are very good – but I am actually going to read and attempt to get some deeper feedback. I also discovered a BooksAMillion gift certificate I never cashed in. Well it seems gift cards loose their monetary value a little each year, so I only had about 100$ left on this one. I wasn’t even sure I had anything ON it but low and behold BAMM rewarded me with a surprise. So.. in my quest for deeper knitting knowledge I bought the following for myself for Xmas:
Knitting by Sharon Turner
Teach Yourself Visually Knitting Design by Sharon Turner
Knitted Tams by Mary Rowe; Ann Sabin
Fair Isle Knitting by Sarah Don
The Art of Fair Isle Knittingby Ann Feitelson

The logic behind knitting math is detailed in Sharon’s design series. This is the because problem I have. Anything that involves math – brain blocks me. I am completely math *unable*. So rather than letting this block me any further I am going to work through it. Ive come to discover.. I really can crochet anything. I am a pretty darn swift sweet crochetahooker. Its the K2Got that gets me.. what exactly is a SSK and why do I need to know that again?
Yes yes I really do know..  but when it comes to patterns color work and heaven forbid adding or subtracting for purpose of pattern.. nnnnggggg the headache begins.
So.. part of my self Christmas gift giving was getting some books with this long lost card. Yippee! I need to find a place to log all my books and mags.. cause honestly I have a ton and those that are always asking me what I want (like I am REALLY that hard to buy for) have no clue that I have this secret book fetish.

People I love – I tell you this over and over.
I LOVE BOOKS. Well BOOKS AND MUSIC !
Come on. .. if you cant be creative and go look at my bookshelf – or ask me if I have a particular knitting book.. for goodness sake.. be sneaky or not but buy me books!

Leave a Reply

