♥ Projects · ♥ Blogging · wearables

DateNight finds her name in the power of a kiss



I started working on my aprons last night. I was a little scared to actually whip out stitches and get down to it. The material old beautiful delicate was screaming to be made new again but the thought of actually putting scissors to it horrified me.  After much hesitation I did indeed lay down the first little snip.

“Just a few small snips” I told myself almost at whisper. Scared excited it was like a first kiss.

Warming little curls shot through my toes and my tummy felt those sweet little butterflies of something new, something sacred. Opening and closing the scissors again for another small snip brought a rush of goosebumps and I felt myself blush. This was exactly like a date night kiss!

I was going to name my sweet little vintage apron Fiesta or Barista Tango Mango – its colors are so bright and cheery. But somehow DateNight Kiss stuck with the feelings I was having for this little darling.
Now you ask yourself and me… “LuLu.. why would you choose Kahlo’s A Few Small Nips – to be the header for your post about such a sweet innocent apron?”

Well dearest reader, my amor, my secret friend..

Kahlo was the embodiment of my inner LuLu in my younger years. Her colors and pain translated into my thoughts and words. As she put paint to emotion, I spoke out loud. Shes always been a great love. Now the story behind this painting itself then lends to the creation of DateNight Kiss.

The betrayal I felt towards taking apart the actual vintage linens was so great that even a few small nips felt  like a world of damage. But the beauty that came from this betrayal is more than I could or would have expected. And did you notice.. the little hole in the bottom piece.. Its  heart shaped. I cant decide to cover it – empower it or creatively peephole it…. hmmmm .

I do not have photos yet of her french seaming and beautiful top. When you see her fully together your toes will curl too….

Leave a Reply

