Recipes from last night – TexMex Beans with Cornmeal Dumplings


[courtesy of Google]

I am adding a new feature to the blog, hope you enjoy it. I will be adding new recipes I am trying and my experiences with how well they turn out. You my fellow Lu’s do know that I really do not enjoy to cook. More to the point in the past I did not enjoy it, because it came on the tail end of a very hard work day, followed by a 45 minute commute home and then of course what ever I made I had to clean as no one under Casa Chey Atomic would help with clean up duty. Being in the new “place” has changed that a great deal. Pixie helps (btw did you see her stache photo in my flickr so cute ! ) and it makes the whole process much more enjoyable for me.

TexMex Beans with Cornmeal Dumplings

Cost 6$
(with out substitutions)

Servings = 4-6
(we are serving small due to diet interests and had a leafy salad with it instead)

1 cup chopped onion
3/4 cup water
1 clove garlic minced
2 8oz cans no salt added tomato sauce
1 15oz can garbanzo beans (chickpeas) rinsed and drained
1 15 oz can red kidney beans rinsed and drained
1 4oz can diced green chile peppers drained (jalapeno, or any other preference is fine)
2 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp cornstarch

Cornmeal Dumplings:
1/3 cup flour
1/3 cup yellow cornmeal
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 egg white
1/4 cup fat-free milk
2 tbl vegetable oil

In a skillet, combine onion, water, garlic. Bring to boil and reduce heat to simmer. Cover and simmer for 5 minutes. Stir in tomato sauce, drained beans, peppers, chili powder and salt.

In a small bowl mix cornmeal dumpling batter. Stir until slightly thickened but not to try to get out lumps or over process the batter.Using two spoons, drop dough into 10 or so mounds on top of bean mixture.

Simmer covered on low for 10-12 or until toothpick inserted comes out clean. It is important to keep covered at least 10  minutes while cooking and to not remove lid to allow heat and steam to penetrate and cook dumplings.

Modifications:

I used Jiffy corn muffin mix and added the 2 tsp of oil to the batter. I did use egg white instead one whole egg as suggested by the mix directions and low fat milk in the amount suggested in the recipe. This made a thicker batter. I saw absolutely no difference in how my dumplings came out.

I also added chopped zucchini and bell pepper. I wanted to use some veggies that were getting close to their end time in my fridge. I added them to the onions and browned a little longer than suggested to get them tender.

Overall Opinion:

Excellent. Pixie liked it and enjoyed two small servings. It was warm hearty and perfect for a snowy night. It was not too spicy for her tastes buds and really hit the spot. Prep time is suggested at 35 minutes but it didn’t feel like that. I also had most every ingredient in my cabinet so I cant articulate real cost.

Calories?

350 cal per serving – I would estimate one serving to be about a cup size portion. This makes about 4-6 cups.

Share

One thought on “Recipes from last night – TexMex Beans with Cornmeal Dumplings

  1. This could become a family favorite – my mouth is watering already. Who loves dumplings? I do!

Leave a Reply

