Trekking Along with KnitPurlHunter (KAL)


Horrendous Cell Phone Pic

My beautiful Trekking Yarn (Susanne) arrived this evening from Ms Doreen of Needles N Pins Yarn Shop. My head is spinning I have so much to say about all of this.
Doreen – thank you ! You were delightful to speak to, handled this so quickly, and got my yarn to me so I could start the KAL with everyone else. You will be a destination stop in my travels this year so I can hug you in person.
Skacel friends.. this yarn is stunning. Its squishy and soft, but very strong. I can’t get over this sea glass blue. Readers should also note a part of this yarns sale goes to donation. In fact, Susanne is a limited edition color. For each ball sold Skacel will give $10 to the Marsha Rivkin Center for Ovarian Cancer Research.

 

Super Beautiful Color

 

So I cast on late monday evening. Knitting the basic instructions well until 2am. I realized on review however I had not followed Judy’s Toe Up Sock Magic Cast On Method and had a hole in my magic loop sock.I was not nearly as far into the sock as I thought I should be and the numbers were off. So first attempt – frogged. That’s what I get for knitting at 2am. I will say this thought it was very fun :).

Lesson 1 Learned It’s ok to be very excited about starting  a new knitting technique. However do yourself a favor and carefully review all instructions.
Now granted this is a Knit Along.. meaning instructions are posted each week, each round and process a new and exciting surprise.

Lesson 2 Learned – I LOVE ADDI TURBOS!
Say what you will fair friends and no I am not cheating on my Zephyrs. These needles are made for socking. I will write a review as I get deeper into the sock and use them over many repeats. So far I am most pleased with their function and very nice construction.

 

So I went back to the site, got the correct cast on and started my first toe. Yes I am knitting a sock! It was easy – I love this Cast On by the way Michelle thank you for showing us!

How far did I get ? Up to the stopping point for everyone. In about an hour. Yes I really said an hour. I would have never thought I would be doing socks.. or doing them so quickly!

 

Look at that perfect seam

Leave a Reply

