Recipes From Last Night – Churros for Pixie with chocolate dipping sauce


Pixie and I have been talking about Tucson a great deal lately. She is curios I am sure about the  town she was born in. She has never been back to see exactly what the place or culture is like. Hearing my fun stories of my childhood and all the things I enjoyed I am sure has made her slightly homesick for a home she really never knew. I do have to compliment the Tucson of my childhood. I had a great childhood and growing up there, a very great experience. I was heavily involved in everything from arts to legislature with my hobbies and interest. Music, literature and oddities were easily and readily available to me. My friends who I am blessed to still keep in contact with are amazing. Smart artistic and just great folks.

Last night she was craving these fun treats. I realize most of my recipes have been leaning towards goodies. I will get back to healthy eating I promise 🙂

Tucson Churros

  • Vegetable or olive oil, for frying
  • 1 cup water
  • 4 ounces butter
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • Chocolate Dunking Sauce, recipe follows

Directions

Prepare to fry the churros by heating 1 to 1 1/2 inches oil in a deep pan to 360 degrees F.

To make churro dough, heat water, butter and salt to rolling boil in 3-quart saucepan; stir in flour. Stir vigorously over low heat until mixture forms a ball, about 1 minute; remove from the heat. Beat eggs all at once; continue beating until smooth and then add to saucepan while stirring mixture.

Spoon mixture into a piping tube with large star tip, this is what gives the Churro its classic ribbed shape. Squeeze 4-inch strips of dough into hot oil. Fry 3 or 4 strips at a time until golden brown, turning once, about 2 minutes on each side. Drain on paper towels. Mix the sugar and cinnamon. Roll churros in the cinnamon sugar. Serve with Chocolate Dunking Sauce.

CinnaSugar Tip:
I have a mix of this prepped constantly because Pix likes a little on her toast. Place a few heft spoonfuls in a brown paper bag (lunch bag) and placed the churros in there and gently shake. Super easy way to coat them!

Chocolate Dunking Sauce:

  • 4 ounces dark chocolate, chopped
  • 1 cup milk, plus 1 cup
  • 1 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 4 tablespoons sugar

Place the chocolate and half of the milk in a pan and heat on low. When the chocolate has melted, dissolve the cornstarch in the remaining milk and whisk into the chocolate with the sugar. Cook on low heat, whisking constantly, until the chocolate is thickened, about 5 minutes. Add extra cornstarch if it does not start to thicken after 5 minutes. Remove and whisk smooth.

Pour and serve in cups for dipping churros.

Do you have a great recipe to share? My friend Lorie does a recipe blog swap every Thursday.  Check her out here:


Photobucket

 

I Link Party Like a RockStar Here

5 thoughts on “Recipes From Last Night – Churros for Pixie with chocolate dipping sauce

  1. Thank you SO much for sharing our meme, I really appreciate the support! ❤
    I LOVE churros, but have never had them dipped in chocolate and that has GOT to be the ultimate because anything dipped in chocolate is better. 🙂
    I may have to try these if I get daring – I have always been afraid of deep frying since I was burned as a child.
    Your photo is beautiful!

  2. I’m sorry I wasn’t here earlier. I just noticed you signed in as I’m trying to catch being as I was out all day Friday do to surgery. That’s all over so here I am, and wait… wait… wait for me I’m coming over, and I’ll stop for coffee. Nummers, that looks good!!! I don’t know if I’ll try this one as we’re both on diets in this house, but if I come by you… ~hehe~ he’ll never know! LOL I’m sure my readers would love to see this one..

  3. tried these as a test to see if I could make them again for my sister’s fiesta-themed engagement party. Well, they were a total hit! Great flavour, and I believe they’ll be a fun and unexpected addition. Can’t wait to do these again in a bigger batch this weekend 🙂
    Thanks!

    • Yay! I hope they were easy, and you enjoyed Melissa. They were always a favorite in my youth and combining recipes on the web resulted in a favorite for my family now too. ❤ Smooches.

Leave a Reply

