♥ Blogging · ♥ Recipes from Last Night

Recipes from Last Night – Chili My Way


Well not exactly my way as I borrowed the recipe, but I have to agree with the sentiments of this blogger it is easy breezy delish and just the perfect thing. This recipe made it to the front page of WordPress on Monday and I knew I had to try it. Click the Pic if you want to see what other yummers, the tastey blogger has!

I never do chili the same way either and its funny because chili for me is always whats in the cabinet. I like white chili with peppers for a southwestern kick and more stew like chili for cold winter weather. I even do a cold chili salad for summer. That recipe will post when the weather is warmer. Keep your beans on!

Chili
Photo Courtesy of Craving Chronicles

Chili, My Way

Adapted from Southern Living
Serves 4-6

Because chili is so flexible, I never make it the same way twice. This is a base recipe that I adjust to my taste and whims. Adjust the amount of liquid (beer and broth) based on cooking time and consistency preference. I like thick chili, so to only cook it for about an hour I use 1/2 of both the beer and the broth. Use any beer you like in the chili. If you don’t like beer, don’t worry, you won’t taste it. You can replace the beer with beef broth if you prefer. This chili is just slightly spicy.

Ingredients

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 large  onion, diced
1 to 1.5 pounds lean ground beef
4 garlic cloves, minced
2 (15-ounce) cans pinto beans, drained and rinsed
1 (8-ounce) can tomato sauce
1 (14-ounce) can diced tomatoes
1 (6-ounce) can tomato paste
1 (4.5-ounce) can chopped green chiles, drained
1 (12-ounce) bottle beer
1 (14 1/2-ounce) can beef broth
2 tablespoons chili powder
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon paprika
salt, to taste
1/2 tablespoon dark cocoa powder (optional)

Directions

Heat olive oil in a large deep pot* over medium heat. Add onion and saute until translucent and tender, about 5 minutes. Add ground beef and garlic to skillet, breaking the meat into crumbles. Cook until beef is browned and no longer pink.

Add remaining ingredients, starting with 1/2 beer and broth amounts and adjusting seasoning to taste. Bring to a simmer and cook, stirring occasionally, for at least 30 minutes, up to several hours. Add remaining liquids if needed as the chili cooks.

Serve hot topped with cheese and a dollop of plain Greek yogurt or sour cream.

*Alternately, to make this recipe in a slow cooker, cook the onions, beef, and garlic in a large skillet on the stove. Add meat mixture to slow cooker and combine with remaining ingredients. Set slow cooker to LOW and cook for 4-8 hours, or until ready to serve.

One thought on “Recipes from Last Night – Chili My Way

  1. I think I am gonna try this next weekend.
    Have to add some fresh chopped Japapenos though.
    Great Find, as usual.

Leave a Reply

