♥ Family · ♥ Life

It’s Time


Two best friends there ever could be…

Over the last year Wolfe’s health has gone downhill, faster and harsher than anticipated. We have patiently tended to his pottie accidents and tried to make him comfy. This last past week his ability to climb the stairs has all together diminished. Every night he tries desperately to make it upstairs and sleep on his doggie bed next to mine. Each night he slips falls and usually has uncontrollable diarrhea down the stairs. I know this makes him feel ashamed, Wolfe was never one for accidents unless it involved a trash can and some meaty morsels.

I try to help him, but Wolfe has always been a nervous/pain biter. This usually leads me to soft petting and harnessing him into a sheet while trying to prevent him from slipping down the stairs backwards and doing much more damage. Like breaking a hip, leg, skull or worse. Now I just block the stairs. I feel sad. I feel like we are locking him out. I know he wants to cuddle with us.

He has been in our life since Pix was little, seen me through every change and has been my constant car companion. This weekend I am going to take him for a long car drive just to let him again smell out the windows, lay on the cool seats and just be a dog. We have made an appointment Wednesday to go to the vet together for the last time.

4 thoughts on “It’s Time

  1. Oh I am so sorry to hear your news. I can’t even begin to imagine what you’re going through. What a lovely idea to bring him for a long car drive. I’ve never met you or Wolfe yet I’m sitting here in tears for your pain. You’ll be in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

